PORTISHEAD

Friday, August 21, 2020

The headteacher at Gordano School has praised an ‘amazing’ group of students, who picked up their GCSE and vocational results yesterday (Thursday).

Friday, August 21, 2020

One of the biggest touring inflatable theme parks in the UK has opened in Portishead.

Read more
Wednesday, August 19, 2020

A tornado-like funnel cloud was spotted spinning over the Bristol Channel near Portishead at the weekend.

Read more
Wednesday, August 19, 2020

A helmsman with the RNLI has retired after 22 years of service saving lives at sea in Portishead and the surrounding areas.

Read more
Saturday, August 15, 2020

A seafront road will remain closed to vehicles to support social distancing in Portishead.

Read more
Thursday, July 23, 2020

A Portishead woman has raised more than £1,200 in memory of her parents for charity MS Society UK.

Read more
Thursday, July 16, 2020

Here is a round-up of talented readers’ photos sent in to iWitness24 so far this summer.

Read more
Thursday, July 16, 2020

Portishead Town Council is inviting community organisations to apply to its new grant aid scheme.

Read more
Sunday, July 12, 2020

Travelodge Portishead has reopened following its temporary closure as a result of Covid-19.

Read more
Sunday, July 12, 2020

A Portishead nursery is launching a summer holiday club for children.

Read more
Thursday, July 9, 2020

A scrapbook made for a care home resident of the area she grew up in brought tears to her eyes after she received her ‘priceless gift’.

Read more
Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Portishead Marina restaurant Hall & Woodhouse has reopened this week after putting in place Covid-19-secure measures to protect its customers.

Read more
Tuesday, July 7, 2020

Striking landmarks across North Somerset have been captured on camera by iWitness24 user Alan Harrison this week.

Read more
Sunday, July 5, 2020

More than 60 singers took part in Portishead Festival of Song online to raise more than £500 towards a church redevelopment project.

Read more
Thursday, July 2, 2020

Portishead Rotary Club has donated almost £350 to support children’s learning during lockdown.

Read more
Wednesday, July 1, 2020

A group of around 20 youths have been advised not to enter Portishead Marina by police after being spotted swimming and flouting social-distancing guidelines.

Read more
Tuesday, June 30, 2020

A £2.6million congestion relief scheme to improve junction 19 of the M5 is underway.

Read more
Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Organisers of a charitable festival will launch online choir workshops this weekend.

Read more
Tuesday, June 23, 2020

A council is encouraging its residents to shop local to help the town’s economy recover from the impact of Covid-19.

Read more
Monday, June 22, 2020

A popular summer show will go virtual next month.

Read more
Monday, June 22, 2020

A popular holiday club for children and teenagers has been cancelled for the first time in its 35-year history due to the pandemic.

Read more
Friday, June 19, 2020

Portishead Lions Club has received a share of £100,000 from the Lions Clubs Foundation of the British Isles.

Read more
Sunday, June 14, 2020

People gathered to take a knee in support of the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement in Portishead.

Read more
Wednesday, June 10, 2020

Shops across North Somerset are gearing up to reopen from next week.

Read more
Tuesday, June 2, 2020

A new care provider has opened in Portishead.

Read more
Saturday, May 30, 2020

Simply Green Zero Waste has launched its online shop to help people order store-essentials during and after the coronavirus pandemic.

Read more
Wednesday, May 27, 2020

A woman cyclist has suffered head and shoulder injuries after a collision with a car on The Portbury Hundred over the bank holiday weekend.

Read more
Sunday, May 24, 2020

Churches across Clevedon, Nailsea and Portishead are helping people who are struggling with debt, a loss of employment or who face low income as a result of the coronavirus pandemic.

Read more
Tuesday, May 19, 2020

A Portishead group is appealing to members of the community to share their best walking routes in town.

Read more
Tuesday, May 19, 2020

A Portishead nursery has launched a scarecrow festival to bring ‘hope, joy and positivity’ to the town.

Read more
Monday, May 18, 2020

Tributes have been paid to a ‘kind, generous and proud’ Nailsea man, Maurice Thornton.

Read more
Monday, May 18, 2020

Two cousins have launched an online campaign to source more PPE for care home staff.

Read more
Thursday, May 14, 2020

A Portishead care home has been encouraging its residents to express how they feel through art.

Read more
Thursday, May 14, 2020

A Portishead mother who has given birth to twins is raising funds to aid NHS frontline staff in the fight against coronavirus.

Read more
Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Police are investigating thefts of alcohol among other items at Waitrose in Portishead.

Read more
Saturday, May 9, 2020

Portishead RNLI has rescued a man ‘clinging to rocks’ after being swept out to sea near Poet’s Walk in Clevedon.

Read more
Thursday, May 7, 2020

A 21-year-old care worker and her boyfriend have been forced out of their rented home in Portishead during lockdown.

Read more
Wednesday, May 6, 2020

A major road improvement scheme set to cut congestion on the M5 and Portbury Hundred is due to be completed this month.

Read more
Wednesday, April 29, 2020

A community has rallied together to support GP practices, care homes and hospitals with handmade face masks, draw string bags and headbands in the fight against coronavirus.

Read more
Tuesday, April 28, 2020

Portishead Rotary Club is making scrub caps for front-line hospital staff at Bristol Royal Infirmary.

Read more
Thursday, April 23, 2020

Portishead Rotary Club has donated £200 to Clevedon District Foodbank.

Read more
Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Residents were ‘absolutely delighted’ to receive a letter from a schoolgirl at their care home in Portishead.

Read more
Tuesday, April 14, 2020

Good causes have benefitted from more than £3,000 raised by Portishead Rotary and Sainsbury’s in the town.

Read more
Sunday, April 12, 2020

A Portishead marathon runner has launched a virtual fitness challenge today (Sunday) to motivate people during coronavirus lockdown and to thank ‘the nation’s frontline heros’.

Read more
Thursday, April 9, 2020

A Portishead nursery is giving away nappies to families after distributing milk to elderly and vulnerable people in town.

Read more
Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Wild Portishead has launched a garden birdwatch project for youngsters and parents.

Read more
Wednesday, April 8, 2020

Portishead Youth Centre is providing online activities and talking sessions to young people to support their health and wellbeing in town.

Read more
Saturday, April 4, 2020

Christmas lights have been switched on in dedication to those battling the coronavirus pandemic in Portishead.

Read more
Thursday, April 2, 2020

Comedian Eddie Large, known for one half of double-act Little and Large, has died of coronavirus aged 78.

Read more
Sunday, March 29, 2020

A Portishead nursery has been delivering free milk to the elderly and vulnerable in the community.

Read more

Read Online

Image
Read the North Somerset Times e-edition E-edition

Useful Links

Reader Travel

Clevedon Tide report

Family Notices 24

Find planning applications