North Somerset AC end 2021 with amazing awards night

All smiles for Lyla Briffitt, James Hatherall and Keira Devereux as they pose with their awards.

All smiles for Lyla Briffitt, James Hatherall and Keira Devereux as they pose with their awards. - Credit: Boylen

More than 200 members attended North Somerset AC Awards Evening to celebrate 2020 and 2021 at Clevedon's Prince's Hall last year.

The evening started with a musical and visual review of the record-breaking years including the efforts by the club to keep all athletes busy during the Coronavirus pandemic.

A number of highlights throughout 2021 included 56 club records, three English Schools Medallists, three athlete of the match awards and seven Avon County Championship Records and League records, the ​most ever in the 17-year history of the club.

Other highlights included a few athletes called up for their Internationals debuts, there were seven national medallists at the National Road relays - the first time NSAC has medalled - and plenty of medallists at County and Regional Championships

Joseph Finch picked up the Endurance Development Award, the Coaches Endurance Award went to Sam Holloway and Ellie Wallace won the Endurance Athlete of the Year.

In the junior section James Hatherall and Ella Thurston won the under-11 male and female awards while Billy Sharp and Holly Bagnoweic secured victory in the under-13 section

Phill Clarke won the under-15 Male Athlete of the year while the Female Athlete was picked up by Lyla Briffitt.

Most Read

Ryan Baldwin and Keira Devereux won the under-17 Male and Female Athletes of the year while the under-20s, and senior, awards went to Carlos Tailor and Phoebe Gooch.

Lois Pole won the Weston Achievement Award while the Weston Athlete of the Year was won by Xavier Keirle.

The Nailsea Athlete of the Year was won by Jonny Ashton, while Clevedon Achievement Award was given to Izzy Turner and Clevedon Athlete of the Year went to Ellie Siegle.

George Leite picked up the Throws Athlete of the Year, Horizontal Jumps Award went to Rosa Ford, Vertical Jumps Award was won by Ruby Donaldson and George Isgrove claimed the Hurdles Award.

The last awards of the evening went to Matthew Herringshaw, who won Speed Developmnent Award, Charlie Bates with Speed Athlete of the Year Award, Conor Hewitt won the Combined Events award and Alex Davies picked up the Ambassador of the Year.

Head Coach Chris Millard said: "I am so proud of the efforts that everyone connected with NSAC have made to bring athletes back after Covid.

"We have emerged stronger than ever, and have been able to support all the needs of the athletes in this uncertain time. Also, the athletes need a huge mention.

"Their attitudes have been superb, and they continue to inspire us to support their development in the best possible way"    

Anyone interested in joining, either as an athlete, or in a senior role are always welcome. Please email for more information.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter