Golf: Clevedon end 38-year wait to win Somerset Bowl

PUBLISHED: 18:00 03 October 2019

Clevedon's men celebrate winning the Somerset Bowl for the first time since 1981

Clevedon's men celebrate winning the Somerset Bowl for the first time since 1981


Clevedon Golf Club added more silverware to their trophy cabinet as the men won the Somerset Bowl for the first time since 1981.

Captain Matt Hocking led the team to a 4.5-1.5 victory over local rivals Tall Pines in the final at Wedmore, but the match was closer than the final scoreline suggests.

The victorious Clevedon team included John Mansell, Paul Shepherd, Craig Andrews, Gary Villis, John Vickerstaffe, Richard Ponsford, Chris Hicks, Steve Jones and Andy Robertson.

Meanwhile, Callum Walker won the Chairman's Cup with a 42-point haul as Mike Walker and Tim Gibbs came out on top in the Division Two and Three competitions.

Merriel Horler won the Eunice Thomas Trophy with a nett 74, as Tony Somerville took the midweek stableford with 36 points.

Chairman's Cup, Div 1: Callum Walker 42, Oliver Hayden 38, Louis Doe 37. Div 2: Mike Walker 37, Chris Marshall 36, Alec Rendall 36. Div 3: Tim Gibbs 37, Keith Sanders 37, Ian Dibble 36.

Eunice Thomas, Div 1: Merriel Horler 74, Heather Priestley 76, Sarah Martin 79. Div 2: Elaine Morgan 82, Laureen Angell 84, Avril THomas 89. Div 3: Evelyn Childs 86, Tracy Buckland 89, Pat Chapman 92.

Midweek stableford: Tony Somerville 36, Dave McGovern 35, Mark Teale 32.

If you value what this story gives you, please consider supporting the North Somerset Times. Click the link in the orange box above for details.

Become a supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Latest from the North Somerset Times