End of season finals held at Nailsea Croquet Club

PUBLISHED: 09:19 03 October 2014 | UPDATED: 09:19 03 October 2014

Nailsea Croquet Club winners.

Nailsea Croquet Club winners.


Nailsea Croquet Club ended their competition season with the finals of club competitions.

NAILSEA Croquet Club has now completed all their Association Croquet competitions for the season, after which two lawns will be given a lot of attention to bring them back to top condition for next summer, leaving two active for social play.

The Open Advanced Level AC competition saw the club’s top players Marcus Evans and Kris Chambers, both international standard players, fight out the best of five matches in front of an admiring audience. The match lasted nearly seven hours, and Marcus won by three games to two.

The B Class Advanced, for players with handicaps from one and six, saw Geoff Hughes beat David Richards.

The Enginuity Plate AC event for players with handicap between five and 12 was closely contested with Ian Telfer beating Brian McCausland, pegging out to a score of 26-18.

The Open Singles AC competition, played on a handicap basis, saw Libby Howard Blood reach the final where she played Andrew Wimshurst, who had managed to dominate both halves of the draw and process format to qualify direct to the final. Andrew won a very close fought final.

The Over-50s AC competition, also played in a handicap basis, saw Chris Jackson beat Graham McCausland, by the narrowest of margins, 26-25.

The Level Play Association Croquet, where there are no handicap allowances, saw Graham McCausland in the final, where he was beaten by relative newcomer Andrew Wimshurst.

The Ladies Cup singles was won by Erica Malaiperuman, who beat Libby Howard-Blood.

The Unequal Bisques was won by Tony Hinchliffe who beat Terry Young.

The Alternate Strokes AC doubles is one of several competitions aimed at medium level club players, where players of carefully mixed abilities take turns to hit the next stroke. Libby Howard Blood and her partner Mary Barnes beat Robin Hendry and Brian Roynon in the final.

One Ball Croquet is played to AC rules, but with only one ball for each player. The handicap format was contested by Tony Hinchliffe and Terry Young, a re-run of their Unequal Bisques final, again a win for Tony. The level play format saw a good contest between Jim Gregory and Mike Tracy, the latter taking the trophy.

The Speed Croquet AC, another lighthearted competition, involves pairs playing on a small lawn and up against the clock. Each side has only 25 minutes of aggregate playing time, using clocks and a timekeeper, and a fair amount of scrambling on and off the lawn by croquet standards. Doreen Wallace and Rob Royffe managed to overcome Kathy Wallace and Brigit Clayton.

The finals always end with the annual Sunday prizegiving social evening to complete a busy season for the club.

Most Read

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the North Somerset Times

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists