Awards evening for Cleeve cricketers

PUBLISHED: 17:09 02 October 2018 | UPDATED: 17:09 02 October 2018

Cleeve CC awards Mitch Want.

Cleeve CC awards Mitch Want.


Cleeve Cricket Club members celebrated the end of the season with an awards evening held at Yatton Masonic Hall.

As the season closes, Cleeve Cricket Club’s successful season and 70th anniversary year, there was one last opportunity to celebrate the summer gone by for the senior sides.

Courtesy of Terry Hart, one of the co-ordinators for first team sponsor Friends of Cleeve, the imposing and historic Yatton Masonic Hall was the venue for this eagerly anticipated event.

Existing and former players and some wives and partners joined guests that included Chris Strong, a stalwart of the Bristol & District Cricket League, Ian Smith, the club’s fixture secretary for many year with his wife Geraldine, Terry Hart and Matt Carpenter, from WEPL Championship winning side Clevedon who was the club’s senior coach for the this season.

A fantastic meal and service was provided by the Lodge as club treasurer, youth team co-ordinator, committee member, dinner organiser etc, also compered the evening’s agenda orchestrating raffle ticket sales and delivering the awards, that were handed out by Chris Strong.

Award highlights included both young skippers being voted by their peers as best player, with first team skipper Glenn Lewin, aged 20, leading his young side to promotion to Division 2 and George Parsons’ 2nds (19) finishing fourth.

Sadly, Glenn, alongside teammate Connor Hance, was en route to New Zealand at the time of the dinner so could not make it.

Looking ahead, John Hance outlined plans for more regular involvement from club coach, Matt Carpenter, who has proved a popular addition to the club and commented about some of the young players coming through, with a number featuring in the senior Saturday sides as well.

Thanks were given to the club’s sponsors and kit sponsors throughout the club’s sides to include the already mentioned Friends of Cleeve and second team sponsor, Williams Gunter Hardwick.

Award winners: 1st XI batting: Sam Williams; bowling - Nikhil Bhajipale; 2nd XI batting: Jamie Elswood; bowling: Tom Redding; 1st XI players’ player: Glenn Lewin; 2nd XI: George Parsons; fielding trophy: Mitch Want; Butterfingers Trophy: Nikhil Bhajipale.

Centuries: Jamie Elswood 154 not out, Charlie Grubb 124, Dan Jones 119 not out, Glenn Lewin 101 not out, Phil Gostlin 101.

Most improved player: Andy Barnsley; non-playing award: John Parsons; Chairman’s Cup: Stuart Williams; Clubman of the Year: Stuart Williams.

Comments have been disabled on this article.

Most Read

Latest from the North Somerset Times

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists