Cycling: Clevedon & District Road Club hold annual time trial

PUBLISHED: 09:00 08 January 2019

Jon Gall and Gareth Jones

Jon Gall and Gareth Jones


Clevedon & District Road Club held their annual eight-mile time-trial between Clevedon and Gordano Schools on Boxing Day.

Will Bjergfelt claimed a fine win in 17.21, as Neil Cotswell (19.20) held off Josh Griffiths (19.22) for second.

Gareth Jones (19.27) was first CDRC man home, as Chris Newman (19.28), Pete Wheddon (20.24), Maria Powell (20.45), Tommy Barlow (21.10), Steve Brown (21.27), Matt Browning (21.33), Mark Hannaford (21.58), James Hester (22.12), Mark Perry (25.39) and Gareth McHale (26.44) also competed.

Jon Gall and Gareth Jones fly the flag in the Western Cyclocross League, with top 10 and top 15 placings in the over-50 and over-40 groups.

But Gall had some bad luck at the Southern Regional Championships, where a dropped chain denied him the chance of a top placing.

Jones put in a solid ride to finish mid pack, as Tom Taylor won the under-14 category to cap a fine 2018.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the North Somerset Times

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists