Nailsea CC completed their 2023 season with an emphatic 91-run win at Backwell Flax Bourton to confirm winning Bristol & District's 10th division, a third promotion in succession, last Saturday.

Having won the toss, Gary Phippen and Pete Hardcastle got Nailsea off to a solid start, adding 42 for the first wicket before Phippen fell to Dexter Kent for 11. Shaun Williams played well for his 25 and Nilesh Vaz added a quick 15. With the loss of Kitt Drew-Wilkinson (3) and Harry Welsman (4), Nailsea found themselves on 143-5, with Hardcastle on 75. 

With David Wade coming in at number seven, the pair took Nailsea through to an imposing 251-5 at tea. Wade finished unbeaten on 44, but it was Hardcastle who stole the show with a maiden first team century, as he carried his bat for a splendid 122, an innings containing 13 fours and a six.
In reply, Backwell Flax Bourton got off to an excellent start, as Peter Skirrow (34) and Dam Cooper (37) added 82 for the first wicket. 

However, with their departure wickets began to fall at regular intervals. Ian Moorcroft with 1-31 and James Taylor, 3-29 did the early damage for Nailsea, with Phippen chipping in with 2-17. Shaun Williams also picked up 1-12, as Backwell Flax Bourton  finished on 160-8 from their 40 overs.