New chairman for Nailsea Town Council

Winning councillors

Winning councillors - Credit: Archant

Councillor Jan Barber has been named the new chairman of Nailsea Town Council.

Cllr Barber, who covers Youngwood ward, takes over from former chairman David Packham.

Chris Watts was also welcomed onto the council as a new member at the town council meeting in the tithe barn on May 15.

There are currently four councillor vacancies which will be filled by co-option at the next town council meeting on June 19.

There are vacancies for two councillors in Yeo ward and two in the West End ward.

You may also want to watch:

Anyone interested in being co-opted on to the council will need to apply to the clerk in writing before June 10.

Candidates will be asked to fill in a short eligibility questionnaire and a co-option application form.

Most Read

For more details on the role, email town clerk Jo Duffy at or call 01275 855277.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter
Comments powered by Disqus