CLEVEDON PIER 150: Plaque commemorates new pier head

PUBLISHED: 13:37 05 April 2019

The new pier head plaque. Picture: Clevedon Pier & Heritage Trust

The new pier head plaque. Picture: Clevedon Pier & Heritage Trust

Clevedon Pier & Heritage Trust

The old pier head plaque will be on display during Clevedon Pier's 150th anniversary week.

Each week, the Times has been looking more closely at one of the 10 archive items which the pier will showcase for the first time.

This week, it is the turn of the pier head plaque which once stood proudly on the old site.

If people look at an aerial shot of Clevedon Pier, they will see the pier head and landing stage is built at an angle to the current one.

When the pier was first built, this was not so, meaning steamers sometimes struggled to berth.

In 1893, £10,000 was borrowed from the town council to pay for a new and improved pier head and landing stage.

The new construction consisted of 24 massive iron columns and 42 green-heat piles, estimated at being 25ft long.

The brass plaque pictured above commemorates the opening of the new pier head by Sir E H Bart, chairman of the Clevedon Local Board on April 3, 1893.

The engineer on the project was George Double from Ipswich.

Did you miss last week’s archived item? Here it is.

Learn about the Clevedon Pier ledger here.

Most Read

Most Read

Latest from the North Somerset Times

Hot Jobs

Show Job Lists