Choosing the pick of the bunch

JUDGES had the difficult job of choosing winners from more than 500 exhibits at Nailsea’s Spring Flower Show.

More than 80 competitors entered their fresh vegetables and blooms, delicious baked goods, impressive photographs and ornate handicrafts at the show, which was held in Nailsea School.

Cyndy Sallnow from Nailsea Horticultural Society said: “It went very well. More than 300 people came through the doors on the day and Nailsea School was a great venue for the show.”

This year’s winners

Barabara Randall Trophy; John Hamblin. Daffodil Society Centenary Trophy; Mr D J Phillips. Thelma Howes Memorial Trophy; William Knight. Jim Tigwell Trophy; Mr D J Phillips. Frank Calcraft Memorial Trophy; Alan Purnell. R N Coate Cup; Alan Purnell. Whitbread Trophy; Mrs V Davis. Dorothy Lucas Trophy; Mrs S Tavener. Photography trophy; Mrs D Smith. Federated Trophy; Mrs S Irwin. Zena Hart Trophy; Mrs B Parker. Don Everitt Trophy; Mrs P Trenchard. Little Egypt WI Trophy; Hannah Nicoll. Children’s Trophy under 6; Emma Hill. Children’s Trophy aged 6-9: Abigail Websper and Annabelle Hanley. Children’s Trophy aged 9-12; Hannah Nicoll. Daffodil Society Bronze Medals; Mr D J Phillips. Daffodil Society Best Bloom; Mr D J Phillips. Daffodil Society diplomas; Mr D J Phillips and William Knight. Nailsea Society Diplomas - Division 1; Alan Purnell. Division 2; Mr D J Phillips. Division 3; Ivor Clarke. Division 4; Ivor Clarke. Division 5-12; William Knight. Best miniature bloom; William Knight. Best bloom in members’ classes; Mr J Hamblin.

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter